Breaking News

Allegri, Conte and Zidane battle for Best FIFA Coach of the Year

Massimiliano Allegri, Antonio Conte and Zinedine Zidane have been named as the finalists for the Best FIFA Coach of the Year award.

The final three were cut down from an initial list of 10, with Manchester United manager Jose Mourinho and Pep Guardiola, boss of rivals Manchester City, among the names to be dropped.

Juventus head coach Allegri won Serie A and the Coppa Italia last season, with defeat to Real Madrid in the Champions League final denying him a historic treble.

Zidane led that Madrid side, who also triumphed in La Liga, while Conte tasted Premier League glory in his first season in England, having taken over a side who had ended the previous campaign in 10th place.

As well as Mourinho and Guardiola, the other bosses initially nominated to subsequently miss out on the final three are Carlo Ancelotti, Luis Enrique, Leonardo Jardim, Joachim Low, Mauricio Pochettino, Diego Simeone and Tite.

The top women's coach will be battled out between Nils Neilsen, Gerard Precheur and Sarina Weigman, with award winners announced on October 23 at a ceremony in London.

No comments